Login to access your Arts Award pages

The different levels of Arts Award have different equivalences to other qualifications:

Arts Award Level

Equivalence to KS4/5 examinations

Other Equivalence/Useful information

Explore – Entry Level Award in the Arts (Entry 3)


Initial Music grade exam (Trinity College London)

Bronze – Level 1 Award in the Arts

GCSE grades 3-1 (was D-G)**

Music Grades 1-3

Silver – Level 2 Award in the Arts

GCSE grades 9-4 (was A*-C)**

Music Grades 4-5

Gold – Level 3 Certificate in the Arts

A Level standard/AS Grade B

Carries 16 UCAS points

Certificate in Higher Sports Leadership

Music Grades 6/8 (for example Grade 7 Music performance examination at Distinction)

**Arts Award is not equal in size to GCSEs or A Levels but young people are working and assessed at comparable standards 

Arts Award qualifications are regulated by Ofqual (Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) in England, CCEA Regulation in Northern Ireland and by Qualifications Wales. The awarding organisation is Trinity College London (TCL). Arts Award is managed by Trinity College London in association with Arts Council England.

Find out more at artsaward.org.uk/qualification